Books by Louise Penny in Order A Comprehensive Guide to Her Novels

Books by Louise Penny in Order: A Comprehensive Guide to Her Novels

Are you a admirer of enigma and suspense fiction? If so, you may have encountered Louise Penny, a Canadian wordsmith recognized for her engaging unlawful stories. With over 20 novels published to date, it can be difficult to know where to commence. That’s why we’ve put together a comprehensive handbook to assist you in navigating the milieu of Louise Penny’s fictions. In this composition, we will cover everything from the author’s backdrop, her most beloved book run, and the order in which to read her books.

About Louise Penny

Before we jump into her books, let’s take a moment to get to know the author herself. Louise Penny was brought forth in Toronto, Canada, in 1958. She previously functioned as a radio host and correspondent before turning to penning fiction in 2005, with the promulgation of her foremost novel, Still Life. Penny’s novels are set in the mythical town of Three Pines in Quebec and often feature Chief Inspector Armand Gamache as the focal character.

Her Most Admired Book Series

While Louise Penny has penned several standalone novels, it’s her book series that has garnered the most attention from readers. Chief Inspector Armand Gamache is the predominant character in many of Penny’s books, and his odyssey is one that has captivated readers for years. The book series is distributed into three dissimilar parts: The Arnot Gamache run, The Three Pines Conundrums, and The Chief Inspector Gamache Series. Let’s probe each series in more scrupulousness.

See also  Top 6 blinds click and collect in 2022

The Arnot Gamache Series

The Arnot Gamache series consists of the first three novels Penny ever published: Still Life (2005), A Fatal Grace (2007), and The Cruelest Month (2008). In this series, we’re introduced to Chief Inspector Gamache and the hushed town of Three Pines, where he is tasked with fathoming crimes ranging from homicide to theft.

The Three Pines Mysteries

The novels in the Three Pines Mysteries series are set in the same fictitious hamlet as the first three publications but can be read as standalone novels. Here, we optically discern Armand Gamache unraveling mysteries outside his role as Chief Inspector. The rubric in this series are The Brutal Telling (2009), Bury Your Dead (2010), A Trick of the Light (2011), The Beautiful Mystery (2012), How the Light Gets In (2013), and The Long Way Home (2014).

The Chief Inspector Gamache Series

The Chief Inspector Gamache string picks up where the anterior series left off and includes the latest publications inscribed by Penny. These rubrics are The Nature of the Beast (2015), A Great Reckoning (2016), Glass Houses (2017), Kingdom of the Blind (2018), and A Better Man (2019). In this set, Armand Gamache confronts several personal and professional quandaries that test his ethics and relationships with his colleagues.

The Order of Louise Penny’s Novels

If you’re green to Louise Penny’s novels, it’s paramount to read her books in the appropriate order to get the full experience. Here is the recommended order to read her books:

  1. Still Life (2005)
  2. A Fatal Grace (2007)
  3. The Cruelest Month (2008)
  4. The Brutal Telling (2009)
  5. Bury Your Dead (2010)
  6. A Trick of the Light (2011)
  7. The Beautiful Mystery (2012)
  8. How the Light Gets In (2013)
  9. The Long Way Home (2014)
  10. The Nature of the Beast (2015)
  11. A Great Reckoning (2016)
  12. Glass Houses (2017)
  13. Kingdom of the Blind (2018)
  14. A Better Man (2019)
See also  Top 12 best stamps to collect for investment in 2022

Wrap Up

In conclusion, Louise Penny is an accomplished and beloved author in the crime fiction genre, and her personas and stories have captured readers’ hearts worldwide. If you’re an enthusiast of enigma and suspense novels, we highly suggest checking out her work, commencing with the proper order listed above. We hope you found this guide accommodating and that you’re influenced to plunge into the world of Louise Penny’s novels expeditiously.


1. What are Louise Penny’s standalone novels?

Louise Penny has published several standalone novels, including The Hangman (1999), The Price of Love (1999), and No Colder Place (2002).

2. Will there be more novels in the Chief Inspector Gamache series?

Yes, Louise Penny has verbalized a new book designated The Madness of Crowds, which is set to be relinquished on August 24, 2021.

3. Is it indispensable to read Louise Penny’s novels in order?

While some of Louise Penny’s novels can be read as standalone novels, it’s recommended to read them in order as they often contain character and plot developments that carry over from the erstwhile books.

4. What makes Louise Penny’s novels dissimilar from other crime fiction books?

Louise Penny’s novels are recognized for their vigorous sense of place, complex and well-developed personas, and intricate plotlines that keep readers absorbed until the very end.

5. How long does it take Louise Penny to inscribe a book?

Louise Penny takes an average of 9-12 months to pen and culminate a book. However, she has been ken to take up to two years to culminate a particularly involved novel.

See also  Top 3 collect coins game app in 2022

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *